Home > Travel guide > Okinawa

Travel guide


Okinawa Prefecture is the southernmost prefecture of Japan. The capital city is NAHA. It comprises hundreds of the Ryukyu Islands in a chain over 1,000km (620 mi) long. The Ryukyu islands extend southwest from Kyushu to Taiwan.
Iriomote Island is the largest of the Yaeyama Islands, and the second one is Ishigaki island.
And in Taketomi Island. 6km from Ishigaki island. there is a traditional landscape of red-tiled roofs.
From the 15th to the 19th century, there was an independent kingdom , Ryukyu Kingdom.In the closing days of WW2 ,the Japanese military made a decision to use the islands of Okinawa as a shield against Allied forces. Sacrificing it cost the islanders dearly ,more than 100,000 Okinawan civilians lost their lives in the Battle of Okinawa.
  • Iriomote
  • Ishigaki Island
  • Naha
  • Taketomi Island
1-13-10, Sanshin Building 2A, Hatchobori, Chuo-ku, Tokyo, Japan